Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#78582 - 02/28/05 10:50 AM DISCUSSSION topic: Nitrous benefits / pitfalls
silverbullet Offline
Post Master

Loc: Van,BC,Canada
I have been running a NOS dry manifold system (50 hp shot) for 5 years now since I first got my SiR new. Before I get to the discussion topic, let me first lay out what system and protection devices I am running. As mentioned, I have a 50 hp dry manifold shot (single fogger). For safety, I have a MSD Digital 6 and blaster coil set to retard timing by one degree when I am on nitrous. I also have a window set-up so that I only spray nitrous at wide open throttle and only between 3000 to 7800 RPM. To complement and round off the system, I have a heater blanket, purge valve and remote bottle opener.

Now for my discussion topic. Recently, I have been wooed by all this turbo talk. I am looking at the Greddy kit just because I do not want anything on the wild side. The problem I am strugling with is that I am not sure if turbo is really what it is put up to be in terms of reliability. As nitrous users, we all have dispelled the myths that nitrous is BAD. What should our next phase be if we/I want more power? If I don't want to dump the whole NOS kit, would a turbo NOS set-up be good? Should I simply use the nitrous to cool the intercooler?

In essence, help me decide whether I should keep NOS or drop it for turbo. I know the turbo people will say do it... but I need to hear the arguement go the other way.

Thanks

2000 Civic SiR
JRSC high boost kit (10 PSI)
Hondata S200 boost option
misc complementary go fast parts!!

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8
420 Hp / 420 lbs/ft torque
0-60 4.8 sec WET or DRY

Videos
#78583 - 02/28/05 08:40 PM Re: DISCUSSSION topic: Nitrous benefits / pitfalls
RealTypeR Offline
Post Master Sr

Loc: Florida
I'd drop it for turbo in a second. Then again, I'm partial to boost cause Nitrous blew my R up
'01 Integra Type R #801 - sold then stolen
'07 Honda Ridgeline RTS Dark Cherry Pearl