Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#45358 - 04/11/04 02:21 PM cylinder head removal/cam shaft swap( info here) 56k no way
00Blue Offline
Post Master Sr

Loc: simi valley CA
First of all let me start off by saying I’m not very good at these things but I wanted to add something to the N/A forums that has helped me so much over the course of owning my car. I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE YOU MAY FACE DUE TO IMPROPER INSTALL/REMOVAL TECHNIQUES OR FAILURE TO FOLLOW DIRECTIONS PROVIDED.

Now that we have that out of the way I can start. First step is to start out by first going here, http://www.carenthusiast.com/crxuk/VTEC_Supplement.pdf after your there your going to want to go into the “engine” “cylinder head removal/installation” section. Once there you will need to print out pages 99-110. Which prints the helms pages 5-47 through 5-58. This is a detailed manual of all the things you will need to do the work and all of the torque specs exc... You’ll want along the way.
Once you’ve done this we can begin, disconnect the negative battery terminal before beginning any engine work on your car. Before I start on this project I like to remove all the bolt on’s to get it out of the way for the boring tedious things that will follow. Start off with your intake then do your header.

Then do the following before removal of the intake manifold.
1. drain the coolant
2. relieve fuel pressure
3. Disconnect the fuel feeder hose. ( continue to follow instructions in your printed out helms. That starts on page 5-51 on. These should tell you how to begin and although they list to do these first. I like to get the bolt on’s out of the way first as I said earlier.

Once the intake manifold, header, and intake are all removed and the coolant and fuel pressure have been taken care of we can start the fun.
1. Remove your valve cover and timing belt covers.