Page 1 of 7 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#8057511 - 01/22/15 08:41 PM My road to ultras starts tonight. v. running blog (get it?)
Lividentity Offline
Major Member

Loc: Gehenna
A little bit about my past with running: I have been running for 3 years now and have been enamored with ultras for the past 2 years. I have run 1 50k, and while that was great, I've been wanting to run a 100 miler for a while. I realized recently that each time I race a half-marathon I think it is kind of easy, though granted I'm not trying to PR every race, but I feel like I can go out any day of the week and run a 2 hour half. I've done 2 marathons and they've not been the best of times, but I felt like with some help I'd be able to do better at running long distance. I have no real desire to run marathons, I don't care about running Boston, or winning a race, but the idea of going out there and running 50, 62, 100, etc miles calls to me.

What I am really interested in is doing 100 milers. I've been very inspired by the guys on this forum to do this. You guys have all gotten so damn fast and good at doing any type of running that it really makes me want to try more.

After my last marathon in December I said I never wanted to race that distance again. And I did mean it, but this is mostly because my left hip hurt a lot from that race, and I have an issue with my right big toe hurting while running. I decided screw it, I'm going to strengthen myself, get better at running distances and do my dream of running 100 milers.

So I signed up for coaching with Liza Howard (I think she's awesome and a rockstar) via Ian Sharman's coaching services. I just got done with my first Skype call with her and I am signed up for 6 months of coaching pre-paid. I will have my first training block of roughly the next 2 weeks tomorrow.